10 Famous Personalities From Bahawalpur - Pelican Properties Skip to main content

Bahawalpur, founded by Nawab Muhammad Bahawal Khan-II and acknowledged as the capital of the princely state in history, is now the 12th largest city in our country. The city is not only known for its architecture but the city is rich with people who have made their names prominent not only in the country but also internationally. This article will list the 10 famous personalities from Bahawalpur.

Art Malik One of the 10 Famous Personalities from Bahawalpur

Art Malik

Art Malik

Athar ul-haq Malik was born on the 13th of November in 1952. He is professionally known as Art Malik. English actor who achieved international fame in the 1980s by starring in different roles, one of the most important ones was in The Jewel in the Crown. Now he has over three decades of experience and is comfortable on both television and on stage.

Ajaz Akhtar

Ajaz Akhtar was born on 1st September 1968 and is a former Pakistani-born first-class cricketer. He is a right-handed batsman and bowls right-arm medium pace. He was born in Bahawalpur and then shifted to the United Kingdom and completed his education at the Deacon’s School, Teesside University, and the University of Hertfordshire.

Gulbahar Bano

Gulbahar Bano

Gulbahar Bano

Gulbahar Bano was born in 1963 and is a renowned Pakistani ghazal singer. She started her career in singing during the 70s and early 80s. Bano initially started from Radio Pakistan of Bahawalpur station. She was given her first chance by the station director of Radio Pakistan Bahawalpur known as Irfan Ali, he then helped her to move to Karachi.

Noshi Gilani

Noshi Gilani was born in 1964 and is a well-known poet in Pakistan. She completed her education at Islamia University in Bahawalpur and started her poetry career. She has written many books of poetry and moved to Australia after her marriage. Her husband is an Australian-based Urdu poet and they now live in Sydney, Australia.


Murtaza Hassan Mastana One of the 10 Famous Personalities from Bahawalpur


Zaka Ashraf

Chaudhry Muhammad Zaka Ashraf was born on 9th September 1952. He is a Pakistani executive and was previously the president of the Zarai Taraqiati Bank Limited. In 2011, on the 15th of October, he was appointed as the chairman of the Pakistan Cricket Board by the President of Pakistan and the charge was taken him on the 27th of October of the same year.

Murtaza Hassan – Mastana

Murtaza Hassan was born in 1955 and passed on the 11th of April 2011. He was commonly known by his stage name that was Mastana. Mastana was a Pakistani Comedian and stage actor with immense talent. He has worked in many stages shows like Larri Adda and Yaro main luteya. Mastana made his name among the 10 famous personalities from Bahawalpur with his great performances.

Asif Iqbal Cricketer

Asif Iqbal

Motiullah Khan

Motiullah was born in 1963 and his name is alternatively spelled as Mutiullah Khan, he was a Pakistani field hockey player. In 1960 he was awarded a gold medal in the Summer Olympics and achieved a silver medal in the 1959 and 1964 Summer Olympics. The government of Pakistan awarded him with a Tamgha-i-Imtiaz in 1963.

Asif Iqbal

Asif Iqbal was born on 12 January 1984 and is an Emirati cricketer. He made his Day International Debut against Hong Kong during the 2015-17 ICC World Cricket League Championship. Asif Iqbal is part of the 10 famous personalities from Bahawalpur due to his exceptional sports career and international representation from Pakistan.

Tariq Cheema

Tariq Cheema

Mumtaz Jajja

Chaudhry Mumtaz Ahmed Jajja was a Pakistani politician and was affiliated with the political party namely Pakistan Muslim League. He served as a member of the National Assembly of Pakistan from 1985 to 1988 as an elected member of the provincial Assembly of Punjab after the 2008 general elections.

Tariq Bashir Cheema

He is a Pakistani politician who served as the Secretary General of PML-Q from 2003 to 28 July 2022. He has also been a member of the National Assembly of Pakistan since 2013. Currently, he is serving as the Federal Minister for National Food Security and Research.